Skip to content

Skiing

02/05/2009

I was home in NH on Wednesday and got to do a ski as my work out.  It was fantastic.  I find XC Skiing to be such a fantastic total body work out, and fun too!  Your heart rate gets into an endurance zone, you are out exploring nature, you work your whole leg on the various levels of terrain and you get to go downhills!

It is beautiful in NH right now with all the fresh snow they’ve been getting nothing has time to get dirty.  Would I want to be living there full time and cleaning up all the snow?  Probably not.  But it is sure fun to visit and get to experience a great winter sport.

XC Skiing is a great way to keep yourself in shape during the off season.  You are working your arms which get pretty neglected while training, especially if you’re like me and don’t swim as often as you should, and it is a fantastic leg workout.  I always feels muscles I don’t normally feel after I’ve been skiing.

You really get a lot of bang for your buck with skiing, especially since it isn’t putting as much strain on your shins, ankles and hamstrings as I find running does.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

