Skip to content

Warmth?

02/08/2009

How could I not have headed out into the lovely day for a run?  It felt so good to just throw on a tshirt and tie up my shoes this morning.  The park was crowded, but not too bad and most of the other runners/walkers were easily passable.  I got in to a little bit of a “race” with a guy who kept trying to pass me, it was fun and it pushed me to really work on some speed.  Once I turned the cross back over to the East Side Drive I lost him so I was able to slow down a little and could really feel how hard I’d pushed myself.  Nice.

I know this weather isn’t supposed to last, which is a bummer because it has definitely made me yearn for warmer weather and being able to run easily later in to the day.

I’m going to try and really get back on the horse with tri training work outs this week, even if my training plan doesn’t start yet.  I need to get some swimming in and its been a few weeks since I spun multiple times during the week.  Having a place where people will be looking to read about it should help motivate me, right?  Let’s hope so!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sadie permalink
    02/09/2009 4:52 pm

    I like coming to your page and reading how your training is going, especially when you post pics from NH. I wish I could get back there more often. I think those trails are still my favorite places to run and ski. I am thinking about doing an off road tri this summer, and possibly another marathon this year. It is tough with a baby though. I am running 3 days a week with another mom, but we are only running 2-3 miles a day. It is surprising how hard that can feel when you are pushing a jogger with you! You should post a calendar with your workouts and the events you plan on doing this year. It is always neat to see it written out. Keep up the training and posts, I look forward to reading them.

  2. akbarnard permalink*
    02/09/2009 5:03 pm

    Thanks Sadie! Good for you getting yourself out there and doing something, especially with a newborn! I think someone, maybe a CBNA Senior for their project, should organize a Northwood Tri! I think the Jenness Pond area would be perfect for it! And of course I’m bias so it could be a fundraiser for my Mom’s organization- the NH Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.

  3. Sadie permalink
    02/09/2009 11:57 pm

    Good idea,maybe you should suggest it to the rec department. Or whoever puts on the Bow lake run. The only problem would be finding someone who would let you use their beach access. Lucas Pond would be a nice spot too. The tri we have here is an off-road one, so it will be trail run, mtn bike and swim. That is my preference anyway.

Leave a Reply

