Skip to content

Weekend Workouts

02/16/2009

You may have thought I didn’t post recently because I’ve been so busy working out.  Unfortunately that was not the case.

This week was a rough one for working out.  I started out strong, but didn’t get enough sleep early in the week and early morning work outs didn’t occur and plans at night meant no evening work outs.  Unfortunately my new job will not be a kind where I can leave for longer lunches and get a work out in.  I know that I”m not even technially in training yet so I shouldn’t beat myself up too much, but I’m still dissapointed.

But, this post is to talk about my weekend workouts which were great.

Saturday- I went for a run later in the day, so I got to head out in the light and come in with the lights of the city coming on around me.  It was a good run, I got myself in to a good pace so I wouldn’t over do it.  About 3/4 of the way through the time I went out to run I felt like I could do the whole park, which made me feel good about my pacing which is something I’ve struggled with in the past.  I couldn’t do the whole park because my ankles were hurting, but it still felt good to know my body wanted to.

I ran around the top of the park so got a great hill workout in and ran back to the East side along the bottom of the resevoir so got some off road running in too.

This morning I got up early to get to the 10:00 spin class with the instructor who is all about training.  Today was a strength building day so it kicked my ass.  We were working at 85-90%  the entire time and it felt hard, but good.  Next week she’s going to do an Oscar themed spin class, so that should be fun.

It felt great that I got 2 hard work outs in this weekend, but the thing still lacking is the pool.  I’ve got to get myself some new goggles and jump back in.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

