Skip to content

Spinning Music

02/19/2009

Last week when I went to spinning my instructor annouced to all the newbies to her class that they’d be hearing real spin music.  Although I always knew her music was different than your typical instructor (most spin instructors use pop, r&b, hip hop hits to keep the class moving) I always just thought that was her style.

After her comment I started to think about it and realize that the only other instructor with similar music was a road biker who would teach during the winter at a Sports Club in Watertown, and clearly he was playing real spin music too.

So what is this music?  Mostly instrumental consistent beats that keep you moving without the pop music highs, lows and runs.

I personally enjoying lyrical spinning.  When I go spin on my own I’ll follow the music and let that dictate my ride.  Jumps, sprints, hill climbs etc.

So what’s my point?  I listened to the Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack over the weekend and realized many of the songs would be great for a spin class like the ones Iona teaches.  The music serves as a back drop to keep you moving, but you dictate your ride.  It was kind of how the music helped my drive.  It was a great consistent beat in the background so I had a good consistent car ride.  No speeding, no swerving, no ups and downs.  The more I thought about it the more I realized why this music is right for spinning if you are utilizing it as a training tool.  You don’t want all those highs and lows, you want it to mimic a ride.  When you’re out on a ride you come to hills and flats as the road dictates, not your music.  You should be able to tackle them regardless of what is playing around you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 06/02/2009 11:59 am

    So it feels good with that kind of music your instructor had introduce you. Then go with it, the best thing to know is that you are enjoying your routine exercise along with this music. It would be more effective fitness if its fun. You not be much focus on the result but you will just find it later you are already on the good shape.

Leave a Reply

