Skip to content

Winter Running

12/07/2009

Last year my friend Andrea and I signed up for the Joe K. 10k.  It was going to be my first 10k and I was nervous.  We had been running 10k’s all fall and winter so far on our weekly runs, but I was still anxious about the race.

The morning of, at about 7:30am she texted me she wasn’t going to make it, and I happily crawled back in to bed.

This year, Matt and I signed up for it.  The night before, as we looked at wunderground.com and thought about waking up at 7:00am on our only free weekend of December we decided to make singing up but not doing the race a tradition.  I’m so happy we did.

I vowed I’d run the course anyway, we’re running the NYRR 15K in 2 weeks, so I do have to get in some longer runs.  The day faded in to evening, and I hadn’t left the apartment yet.  With the sun quickly setting I threw on my winter running gear and headed in to the cold.  I’m so happy I did.

I ran fast, getting to 3.3ish in 25 minutes and then the full 5.5 in 45.  My quad was aching the last 2 miles, and my ankles were hurting too.  It is good and bad that I push through pain, this time I think good because my quad feels fine now and I’m glad I finished the run strong.

In honor of it being my first winter run a quick list of the things I love about running in the winter.

The crisp air, wearing fleece, the cold cough you get after, the flush in your cheeks, seeing your breath, the camaraderie with other runners, coming back in to a warm cozy home.

Here’s to a great winter of running!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 12/12/2009 6:00 pm

    I’m sitting here coughing after running in the cold. I’m not sure I find it as enjoyable as you do. LOL

Leave a Reply

