Skip to content

Running for Haiti

02/21/2010

I’ll admit it, I get a little choked up every time I take off for a road runner’s race.  It is a combination of things for me.  Nerves, excitement, being a part of such a great community of city runners, and often times the causes.  Today, the pre-race program made sure you were connected to the cause.  In 18 days since the earthquake NYRR, and the Park’s committee put together a 4 mile race that got 10,000 registrations and raised $400,000.  Wow.  I was so happy to be a part of it, to have been able to go do something I love for a great cause- especially since my full registration fee went to direct on the ground relief through Doctor’s Without Borders and the American Red Cross.

On top of all that, I ran my best pace yet, finishing at 31:46 on the clock, which was actually 31:07 race time.  That’s a 7:45 pace, wow!  I ran the second mile in 7:30- I think that is probably my first 7:30 mile.  And, to top that all off, I had a pee stop in the first mile!  Waiting around in the cold for a 1/2 hour did it to me.

I felt great out there, really excited to be a part of the momentum, not bothered by the tight running quarters, and loving the feeling of my feet hitting the pavement as I moved through the course.

Looking forward to a deep sleep tonight and getting in a long run tomorrow.  9 weeks to the 1/2!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 02/23/2010 3:53 am

    I too have been quite moved by the events in Haiti and find myself using my running to try to deal with it. I spent the weekend working in a booth raising awareness for the group I work with “Hope for Haiti’s Children” at a church youth forum in Gatlinburg, TN. It make me feel great to raise awareness and funds for a group helping so much in such a torn up place. Thanks for raising money for such a great cause.
    Happy running,
    Rundad
    If you are interested, you can check out our organization at http://www.HopeForHaitisChildren.org

Leave a Reply

