Skip to content

Wintery mixes don’t mix well with trips to the gym

02/26/2010

Every night I walk by a gym on my way to the train (Incidentally my friend Emily won a year membership to said gym for coming in 3rd in fund-raising for the Damon Runyon Yankee Stadium 5k last year, I feel partially responsible since I encouraged her to do it 🙂 ) I see people in there getting their work out on and think, “If they can do it, I can!”  Obviously, most nights I work out as is documented here.  Tonight however, I just couldn’t get there.  I saw them in there as I walked by in the lovely rainy snowy mix.  It wasn’t coming down too hard, and I thought, “I can totally head to the gym after I get home.”

Then, I got off the train, the mix was coming down harder and the sidwalks and streets were covered in slush.  Not ideal for heading to the gym, not ideal at all.

My win for the night?  I made a healthy and delicious dinner.  Roasting brussell sprouts is oh so easy!  And they are oh so delicious.

So, is it snowing where you are?  How do you get yourself to the gym when it is utterly disgusting out?  Or do you camp inside too?

One Comment leave one →
  1. sades permalink
    02/26/2010 5:55 am

    Well, it certainly isn’t snowing here, but I am not a big fan of the gym. I tend to stick with the basic body weight exercises: planks, push ups, pull ups, squats, lunges. I also love a good jump rope session, and some mountain climbers are a great addition to a good indoors workout.

Leave a Reply

