Skip to content

Pulls and stuff

04/16/2010

As I sit here with an ice pack tied behind my knee I worry, slightly.  I went for a run last night with two friends.  I had to stop several times and walk due to the pain of my pulled muscle.  I felt it the entire time we ran, barring the first 2 minutes when I briefly thought, “Sweet lord I’m a fast healer!”

I’m mad at myself for letting it get this bad.  I can’t regret it though, it is done, what’s the use?  Now, I’ll just keep icing and hope that by the end of next week it feels better.  If it doesn’t, I won’t run the 1/2.  It won’t be the first time Mom and I have called off a race- see This Post.

Will I be bummed out that I’m missing this race?  Yes.

Is it worth it to run a frustrating 13.1 miles and possibly injure myself more permanently.  Hell no.

I’ve got a lot more races in me and another 1/2 in November to run.

We’ll see though, a lot can change in a week.  I’m going to try 3 tomorrow and see how I feel and in the meantime I’ve started weights again, oh good lord my quads are sore! and I swam again tonight- go me!  I really need to look in to children’s goggles.

How’s your training fellow endurance athletes?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sadie permalink
    04/16/2010 5:41 pm

    If you really want it to heal don’t run 3 tomorrow, actually don’t run at all until Monday. It won’t hurt your training at all to take 3 days off and it may make it possible to do the race too. Also, don’t go bike or swim in it’s place. Do some light yoga, stretch and ice and it will heal nicely. Also make sure you are getting enough protein to support the training. Good luck

  2. 05/17/2014 3:19 pm

    It is not worth injuring yourself, and risking a longer term injury. Relax a bit, and get back to racing stronger!

Leave a Reply

