Skip to content

Q2 Race

06/28/2012

Where does the time go? Yikes. 2 weeks ago I ran the JP Morgan corporate challenge with my company. Fulfilling my Q2 race quota and realizing how far I’ve come after getting back in my Nikes.
I had trained, running 4-5 miles once a week (typically on a Saturday morning) and getting in 1-2 runs during the week. I knew I was getting faster.
It was muggy, but the race stared late and I’ve always found the Park has a bit cooler air.
As we started I looked in front of me for our CEO who had started before me.
“would I pass him?”. I thought.
Turns out, I would. Twice. The final time about a 1/2 mile from the finish when I put on the after burners.
I felt good, I felt like I was kicking ass and working hard. I started to get that shaky feeling towards the end and I knew I was pushing my body.
My pace was 8:04. My first thought was, “I want to be sub 8:00”.
I’m not a competitive person, but damn I get competitive in races! Especially with men.
So, with Q3 right around the corner I’ve got The Color Run to look forward to and I’ve got a lot lore running to do!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tara Lidell permalink
    09/26/2012 1:36 am

    8:04 is an excellent pace ….. I’ve never gone below 9:00, so I’ll use that as inspiration! Really enjoy reading your blog. Tara Lidell

Leave a Reply

