Skip to content

Ouch

08/19/2012

In April of 2010 I developed a common running cyst behind my knee. It was a result of a right IT band. Umm, I had never stretched it! I “found” it pushing myself too hard training for a 1/2. I got to a point where I physically couldn’t run and had to hobble a mile home. Not fun. It was interesting timing because I was actually a few weeks pregnant and not doing a 1/2 was probably a good thing.
Through physical therapy, rest and focus on my IT band I rehabed. I still feel it tighten and full on some runs, but t wasn’t a “career” ending injury. Phew.
You’d think I’d learn my lesson about pushing too hard.
Clearly I didn’t. Today I got to 3 miles on my run and the cyst was feeling very bad. I stopped to stretch and told myself, “a few more miles”. It still hurt. Added was a pretty painful twinge in my hip on elevation changes. Going uphill, ouch. Going downhill, ouch.
I pushed on, my brain winning in body vs brain.
I decided I would try to get almost home and then walk.
I thought I’d run a little easier. But I actually picked up speed. And then the pain went away.
Sweet! Now I’ll never learn my lesson.
But I banged out 6 miles in 49 minutes.
Super sweet.
Don’t follow my lead. My hip is killing me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tara Lidell permalink
    09/26/2012 1:32 am

    Six miles in 49 minutes??? WOW! Awesome! U r an inspiration to me. 🙂

    Tara Lidell

Leave a Reply

