Skip to content

1/2 Down! Resolution Met!

11/12/2012

I kind of forgot about this blog.  Sorry to my readers!  Never fear, I kept right on running to meet my resolution and guess what!? – I did it!

Today, I ran my 1/2 marathon (1:55:07) and fulfilled my goal!  It felt damn good!  (and hurt a little too).

It was a crisp fall day, cool, cloudy with no wind.  Pretty perfect for a long distance run.

My stomach was a mess during the car ride to the race, but that’s pretty typical for me.  I got a little banana in me, and some water and was ready to just get to running.  As we waited for the gun to sound, I was excited. I turned to a friend running with us and said, “Doing this means I make my New Year’s Resolution!”

Then my Mom said, “We have to go run for 2 hours!”

At about mile 4, I thought, “Really? Only 4 miles in?” Actually, I think I said it out loud.

My goal for this race was to be under 2 hours.  My Mom, who had never done an under 2:00hr half wanted to get there too, so we stuck together.  I kept her speeding along, and she kept me occupied.

It’s great to have a running buddy.

The Seacoast of NH is lovely, and this route took you along some of the highlights.  Great scenery to distract you for a moment.

Before I knew it we were reaching mile 9 and my hip was aching, and my knee starting to twinge from a tight IT band.  I knew I had to stop and stretch or I would hurt myself.  So I did.  Mom kept on trucking and after about 3 minutes, I took off to catch her.

Easier said than done.  I worked my butt off to catch up to her!  It felt good, I felt strong.  We only had a 5k left!

Then my feet started to hurt, and my knees, and I knew I had blisters forming on the outside of my big toes.  Oh well, complaining about our aches and pains took us another few miles.

As we closed in on the last mile I pushed ahead of Mom and pushed myself a little harder.  I knew I was going to be under 2, but I wanted to make it good!  Then I hit a steep hill.  Ouch.  Nevertheless, I ran on and thought, “This is the longest mile of the race!”  It really felt that way.  And then, there was the finish!  I sprinted in and got my water and medal.

I didn’t want to stop right away, but the finish line crowds make it hard.  I was met by David, Matt and Emilio and my friend Jaimie who lives on the race route.  Mom finished soon after and post race discussions ensued.

Then it hit me, my entire body was about to stiffen up big time if I didn’t move and stretch.  I’m thanking myself for that now, because I’m feeling okay!  Oh wait, I also took some IBU in the car 😉

Overall, it was a good race and I look forward to doing it again next year.  1:45:00??

Now, we focus on keeping up the work outs and thinking about to fit in Tri training for next year!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/13/2013 1:30 am

    Just stumbled on your blog 1:55 is excellent. keep it up and 1:45 is easily within your reach. How are those tri’s coming.

  2. 02/13/2013 2:07 pm

    Hi Clive! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 The year is just getting started, so I haven’t quite gotten in to Tri training yet. My Mom is pushing a mini tri in May – we’ll see! I just have to get back in to my running shoes and out running- that’s my next goal!

Leave a Reply

